什么是指数?

指数是用来跟踪一个行业或者板块的增长或轨迹的股票和工具的集合。这些综合工具让我们能够研究市场板块的表现,因此更好地识别投资机会和市场波动。

S&P 500(美国)DAX 30(德国)FTSE 100(英国) 涵盖本国市值最大的一系列公司。由于指数追踪一篮子公开交易的股票,交易者可以通过跟踪指数了解市场的大体变动并且制定相应的投资策略。

如何计算股票市场指数?

为了更好地理解指数计算方法,非常重要的一点是了解指数是如何组成的。

每个交易所均要求其上市公司维持高水准的会计和对外报告。标普(S&P)、Xetra、金融时报证券交易所集团(FTSE)等公司通过这些对外披露的报告来审核上市公司的健康和增长情况。

这些公司经汇编后将发布其审核结果,这些结果数十年来被全球投资者所使用。无论是在市场繁荣还是衰退时期,S&P 500、Xetra的DAX 30和FTSE 100都一直为投资者提供可靠的指导和围绕一些全球最大公司的中肯洞见。

手机显示指数板块

我是否能够从指数交易中获利?

指数每天有涨有跌。通过将相似的公司分组在一起,交易者将这些工具作为衡量整个市场或行业的指标,以此更好地了解市场动向。

例如,在Netflix发布公告后,您预计它将对整个技术行业产生积极影响。您可以在Plus500平台上买入US-Tech 100,利用该指数的价格波动获利。如果该指数如预期上升,您可以平仓获利,投资收益为购买和平仓价格之间的差额。相反,如果指数下跌且您在此时决定平仓,则将蒙受亏损。

如果您预测该公告将对指数价格产生负面影响,则可以开立一个卖出头寸。如果价格如预期下跌,您可以平仓并从差价中获利。如果指数价格上升且您在此时决定平仓,则将蒙受亏损。

指数交易的好处

指数交易是分散交易风险的有效方法,与单支股票交易相比,它提供更大的敞口。

在股票交易中,股价的波动取决于公司表现、收入以及对其产品的信心等众多因素。在指数交易中,少数表现欠佳的成分股不一定会影响到指数的价值。尽管少数几家成分股公司报告亏损或者业绩不佳,取决于这些成分股在指数中所占的权重,指数价格仍有可能上涨。同时,如果一些公司报告盈利,而权重较高的另一部分公司报告亏损,则该指数可能会下跌。

全天候支持
寻求支援吗?
全天候支持

What are Indices?

Indices are a collection of stocks and instruments used to track the growth or trajectory of an industry or sector. These whole-sector tools allow us to look at how a chunk of the market is performing to better understand investment opportunities along with market fluctuations.

The S&P 500 (USA), DAX 30 (Germany) and FTSE 100 (UK) are a collective of each country’s largest companies based on their market capitalization. As an index tracks a basket of publicly traded stocks, by following the index, traders can understand the broad movements of the market and plan out their investment strategy accordingly.

How are stock market indices calculated?

To better understand how indices are calculated, it is important to understand how they are constructed.

Each exchange requires their listed companies to maintain a high standard of accounting and public reporting. Companies such as Standard & Poors (S&P), Xetra, Financial Times Stock Exchange Group (FTSE), and others review these published reports to audit the health and growth of publicly traded companies.

Once compiled, these companies publish their findings, which global investors have relied on for decades. The S&P 500, Xetra’s DAX 30, and the FTSE 100 have reliably guided investors through both prosperous and challenging times, providing honest insight into some of the world’s largest companies.

Mobile phone with indices sector

Can I profit from index trading?

Indices rise and fall on a daily basis. Calculated by grouping together similar companies, traders’ use these tools as whole market or sector indicators to better understand market movements.

For example, after an announcement by Netflix, you predict that it will have a positive effect on the tech industry as a whole. You can open a Buy position on Plus500’s US-Tech 100, hoping to profit on this index’s movement. If the index does indeed rise, you can close your position and profit from the difference between your purchase price and closing price. On the other hand, if the index falls and you close your position, you will incur a loss.

If you predict that there will be a negative effect on the index, you can open a Sell position. If the price does indeed drop, you can close your position and make a profit from the difference. If the value of the index rises and you close your position, you will incur a loss.

Benefits of index trading

Trading on indices can be an effective way to diversify trader risk, as it provides wider exposure when compared to trading on an individual stock.

When trading on a stock, fluctuations in the stock price are based on a large number of factors such as performance, revenue, and confidence in their ability to produce exciting products. When trading an index, a handful of poorly performing constituent companies do not necessarily affect the index’s value one way or the other. If a handful of constituent companies report losses or poor performance, it is still possible for the index to rise, depending on their weight. At the same time, if some companies report gains, the index may fall if a higher weighted company reports losses.

24/7 Support
Need Help?
24/7 Support