影響指數價格變動的因素有哪些?

指數是衡量經濟或行業整體表現、增長和健康狀況的工具。通過查看表現最佳公司的總體業績,我們可以了解到整個市場或者行業的概況,這是單單跟踪一支股票無法做到的。

例如,對一家科技公司投資1,000美元可獲得12%的年回報率。要判斷這是否是一項不錯的投資,我們應當將12%與Nasdaq 100同一時間的表現作為基準來評估回報是良好、等於還是低於平均水平。

Plus500交易最活躍的指數差價合約包括S&P500( 美國500 )、DAX30( 德國30 )和FTSE 100( 英國100 )。Plus500還提供行業特定的指數差價合約,例如加密貨幣10大指數 1大麻股票指數房地產巨頭指數等。

雖然追踪最佳表現企業的增長令人興奮,但是了解影響指數價格的因素也很重要。

筆記簿電腦屏幕上顯示指數

指數是如何組成的

在創建公司指數(組)時,以有益於投資者的方式對其進行衡量很重要。

例如,在1984年,投資者對跟踪在倫敦證券交易所公開交易的前100家公司很感興趣。金融時報證券交易所(FTSE)作為一家私營組織承擔了審查在倫敦證券交易所(LSE)交易的所有公司收益報告和會計記錄的任務。

他們的研究有助於了解在交易所上市交易的每家公司的整體價值(市值)。然後,他們根據市值選擇了排名前100位的公司並將它們編入列表。FTSE成員按季度審查新的盈利報告,據此決定哪些公司可以繼續保留在前100名列表中、哪些公司將退出,以及哪些公司將填補空缺。

Plus500為交易者提供了交易這些指數差價合約的機會。

如何計算指數價值

通過匯總倫敦證券交易所前100名公司 (FTSE 100)的整體價值,可能很難理解該指數隨時間的表現。兩種流行的數學工具可將數字從數万億細分為我們今天所熟知的更易於理解的千位指數。

流通量調整市值估值法

如果公司最初發行了1,000股,這並不意味著可以在公開市場上購買或交易1,000股。公司可能會決定將850股(85%)在倫敦證券交易所中上市自由交易,而其餘150股(15%)則分配給內部董事。就指數而言,公司的價值將根據850股公開市場份額(不包括15%的不可交易份額)計算。這些股票被稱為「流通股」(Float)。

計算公式為:

(所有公司股份-鎖定股份)X 股份價值 = 自由流通股價值

1984年,FTSE彙編了FTSE100,並將其初始值定為1,000點。為了得出這個數字,他們做了一個簡單的計算:

前100家倫敦證交所交易的公司流通量調整後總市值(市值)= 1000

下個季度,他們繼續計算: (新市值總計/先前市值總計)x 1000 = 第二季度FTSE100的點值

通過該計算方法,您可以看到隨著這些公司的價值增長,FTSE100的價值也將隨之增長。

備註:為了使基金盡可能保持一致,公司必須證明其市值對等第90位排名,並可能在跌至第111位時被移出指數列表。

價格加權估值法

另一種估值方法是考慮股票的價格超過公司的市值。

為此,如同FTSE,我們編制一組公司列表,不同的是這次我們只看每支股票的價格,而不考慮其他因素。這是Charles Dow和Edward Jones在1885年創建道瓊斯工業平均指數(DJIA)時使用的方法。

他們首先納入美國最大的30家公開交易公司,並對每家公司的每支股份給予同等的權重。為了計算指數價值,他們採用了除數並將其平均化所有股票。

個股的總價值之和/除數(例如1000)= 指數價值

備註:除數值不對外公開,且會定期更改以避免過度波動。

儘管DJIA和S&P 500的變動趨勢往往相同,但卻無法將它們進行對比。價格加權法的一些批評者指出,該計算方法未能考慮股票分割、新股票發行或者其他波動因素。

Plus 500為交易者提供了交易指數差價合約的機會。

理解指數的波動

我們已經介紹了指數的計算方式,現在可以開始了解它們的估值以及它們是如何上下波動的。

面對諸如自然災害、國際貿易爭端或冠狀病毒大流行等較大的市場事件,股東們擔心他們的投資價值可能會下降。這種緊張情緒將反映為出售所持股票。一些股東可能會很樂意出售股票,因為他們知道如果長時間持有這些股票,公司很有可能會倒閉,其投資價值將消失。由於市場中充斥著賣方,可能會因此吸引買方進場並以較低的價格買入股票。

另一方面,新技術、貿易協議、正盈利報告或任何其他對市場感到樂觀的理由都可能會導致投資者大量增持,從而增加對固定供應股票的需求。

隨著公司價值的增長,加上股票供求關係的變化,股價也會隨之變動。

在考慮整體指數的價值時,公司的價值每天都在不斷地上升和下跌,但平均值可能會保持不變。這就是為什麼一些表現好的公司出現價值下跌,但是只要其他公司價值上漲,該指數的整體價值可能會保持不變。

1產品選項取決於運營商。
全天候支持
需要幫助嗎?
全天候支持

What Moves an Index’s Price?

Indices are tools to measure the overall performance, growth, and health of an economy or sector. By reviewing the collective performance of top performing companies, we develop a whole-market or whole-sector snapshot, which may be imperceivable from following a single stock.

For example, a $1,000 dollar investment in a tech company realizes an annual return of 12%. To understand if this was a good investment, we should compare that 12% to the growth of the Nasdaq 100 during that same time as a benchmark to understand if our return was good, average, or sub par.

Some of Plus500’s most traded indices CFDs include the S&P500 (USA500), DAX30 (Germany30), and the FTSE 100 (UK100). Plus500 also offers exclusive sector-specific indices CFDs such as the Crypto 10 Index1, Cannabis Stock Index, Real Estate Giants Index, and more.

While it may be exciting to follow top performers on their growth journeys, it is important to understand what moves an index’s price.

Laptop screen with indices

How an index is constructed

When compiling an index (group) of companies, it is important to measure them in a way that is useful for investors.

For example, in 1984 investors were interested in keeping track of the top 100 companies that are publicly traded on the London stock exchange. Financial Times Stock Exchange (FTSE), a private organisation took upon themselves the task of reviewing earnings reports and accounting records of each company that was traded on the London Stock Exchange (LSE).

Their research helped to understand the overall value (market capitalization) of each company on the exchange. They then selected the top 100 companies based on market capitalization and compiled them into a list. Each quarter, members of FTSE convene to review new earnings reports to determine which companies may remain on the top 100 list, which companies will fall off, and which companies will fill the new vacancies.

Plus500 offers traders the opportunity to trade CFD on these indices.

How an index’s value is calculated

By compiling the total value of the London Stock Exchange’s top 100 companies (FTSE 100), it may be hard to understand this index’s performance over time. There are two popular mathematical tools that are used in order to break down the number from the trillions to the more digestible thousands that we know today.

Float Adjusted Market Capitalization Valuation

If a company initially issues 1,000 shares, this does not necessarily mean that 1,000 shares are available for purchase or trade in an open market. They may decide that 850 shares (85%) can be traded freely on the London Stock Exchange while the remaining 150 shares (15%) are allocated to internal directors. The value of the company, for the sake of the indices, will be calculated based on those 850 open market shares, excluding the non-tradeable 15%. The terms used to describe these shares are ‘Floating Shares’ or ‘Floating Stock’, or ‘Float’ for short.

This can be visualised as:

(All company shares - locked in shares) X Share value = Free Float Value

In 1984, FTSE compiled the FTSE100 and gave it an initial value of 1,000 points. To come to this number they did a simple equation:

Combined Float Adjusted Market Capitalization (Market Cap) of the top 100 LSE companies =1000

The next quarter, they did another calculation (New Market Cap totals/ previous Market Cap totals) x 1000= Q2 FTSE100 point value

Using this method, you can see that as the value of these companies grow, so do the points of the FTSE100.

Note: In order to keep funds as consistent as possible, companies must demonstrate a market cap that is equivalent to position #90 and may fall to position 111 before being removed.

Price Weighted Valuation

Another method is to consider the price of the stock over the market capitalization of the company.

To do this we compile a list of companies in a group, just as we did for the FTSE, except this time we look at the price of each individual stock and nothing else. This is the system used by Charles Dow and Edward Jones when they created the Dow Jones Industrial Average (DJIA) in 1885.

They began by taking the largest 30 companies that are publicly traded in the United States and giving an equal weight to a single share of each of these companies. To calculate this index’s value, they took a divisor and used it to average all of the stocks.

Total value of each individual share added together / divisor (ex. 1000) = Index Value

Note: The divisor value is not disclosed and is changed regularly to avoid excessive volatility.

Although the DJIA and S&P 500 often trend in the same direction, they can not be compared to one another. Some critics of the Price Weight method point out that it does not account for stock splits, issuing of new stocks, or other fluctuations.

Plus 500 offers traders the opportunity to open CFD orders based on these indices.

Understanding Index Fluctuations

Now that we’ve explored the ways that indices are calculated, we can begin to understand their valuations and how they move up and down.

During larger market events such as natural disasters, international trade disputes, or the Coronavirus pandemic, shareholders become nervous that the value of their investments may go down. This nervousness is expressed through the selling of their shares. Some shareholders may be happy to sell, knowing that if they hold on to these investments for a long time, there is a chance that a company may go out of business and the value of their investments will dissipate. As the market becomes flooded with sellers, buyers might come in and pick up shares at a reduced price.

On the other hand, new technology, trade agreements, positive earnings reports, or any other reason to feel optimistic in the market may lead investors to invest heavily in the company, raising the demand for a stock that is in a fixed supply.

As the value of a company grows, combined with the supply and demand of their share, it moves the share price as well.

When considering the value of an index, companies are continuously gaining and losing value on a daily basis, yet the average may balance out. This is why some top performers may lose value, yet if the value of other performers climbs up, the overall value of the index may remain the same.

1Product offering is subject to operator.
24/7 Support
Need Help?
24/7 Support